Organs

AN EXCEPTIONAL HERITAGE

/// In Occitanie, a lot of energy goes into promoting our organs!

The Occitanie region has a rich heritage of more than 500 instruments of different periods and aesthetic styles, which attract many organ and music lovers every year.

Traditionally, our Region has been home to several great families of organ builders, whose instruments have been exported all over the world. Today, there are still around ten organ specialists who continue to create and service the instruments.

Alongside them, many organists, associations of organ devotees, and individual music lovers enthusiastically promote this unique heritage.


///
TOULOUSE, CITY OF ORGANS

Toulouse has one of the finest collections of organs in Europe. It includes unique historical organs of different styles and periods, including the great Cavaillé-Coll of the Saint-Sernin Basilica. These instruments have benefited from a restoration policy initiated and encouraged by Xavier Darasse and undertaken by the city of Toulouse since the 1970s. Beautifully made new instruments complete the collection, such as the organ built for the Musée des Augustins in 1981 by the great German organ builder Jürgen Ahrend.

There are thus about 30 instruments, including 10 outstanding organs, to be discovered in the city centre alone!

Today, this rich variety of instruments means that organists can perform from all kinds of repertoire, from early to the most contemporary music: works from the Italian 17th century in the chapel of Sainte-Anne, Bach and Nordic baroque in the converted church that is now the Musée des Augustins, Couperin and the French classic composers in the church of Saint-Pierre des Chartreux, and the great symphonic organ repertoire in the Dalbade and Taur churches, or in Saint-Sernin itself!

Last organ news

Orgues

Agenda des concerts d’orgue en Occitanie

Voici un éventail des concerts d’orgue à venir dans la région Occitani... Lire la suite
Orgues

13 candidats pour le 13e concours international d’orgue de Toulouse

Le Concours international d’Orgue de Toulouse invite les organistes de mo... Lire la suite

See all the news

ORGAN BUILDERS

Organ builders are those men and women who conceive, design, build, service, tune, repair and restore organs.
Organ building is a high-level craft that requires a range of technical and artistic skills, combined with a creative spirit and a great capacity for adaptation.
A job for elite and devoted craftsmen and women!

More about the organ builders

Also discover …

LEARN TO PLAY THE ORGAN

Would you like to learn the organ? Whether as a beginner or an advanced student, child or adult, there are several possibilities available..

More

STORIES AND ANECDOTES

Organs have a long history, and there are many fascinating anecdotes about them. Do you know the history of the Puget family? Did you know that organs were transported on the Canal du Midi? Find a range of organ stories here!

More

ASSOCIATIONS FOR ORGAN ENTHUSIASTS

Associations of Friends of Organs, Associations for organists, towns and cities committed to enhancing the reputations of their organs, organ builders etc. Here we offer a non-exhaustive list of organ-related links!

More

Do you want to meet us ?

Orgues

UN PATRIMOINE EXCEPTIONNEL

/// En Occitanie, de grandes énergies s’engagent POUR Les orgues !

La région Occitanie est riche de plus de 500 instruments d’époques et d’esthétiques différentes qui attirent chaque année de nombreux amateurs d’orgues et de musique.

Notre région a accueilli dans son histoire de grandes familles de facteurs d’orgues qui ont essaimé des instruments dans le monde. Elle compte aujourd’hui encore une dizaine de facteurs qui continuent à créer et à entretenir des instruments.

À leurs côtés, nombreux sont les organistes, les associations d’Amis des Orgues, les mélomanes qui font découvrir avec passion ce patrimoine singulier.

/// TOULOUSE, VILLE D’ORGUES

Toulouse possède l’une des plus belles collections d’orgues d’Europe. Elle comprend des orgues historiques uniques, de différents styles et périodes, dont le grand Cavaillé-Coll de la Basilique Saint-Sernin. Ces instruments ont bénéficié d’une politique de restauration entreprise dès les années 1970 par la ville de Toulouse, sous l’impulsion de Xavier Darasse. Des instruments neufs de belle facture complètent la collection, tels que l’orgue des Augustins construit en 1981, œuvre du grand facteur allemand Jürgend Ahrend.

Ce sont donc près de 30 instruments dont 10 orgues de grande qualité à découvrir dans le seul centre-ville !

Cette richesse instrumentale permet aujourd’hui de jouer tous les répertoires, de la musique ancienne à la musique contemporaine : le XVIIe italien à la chapelle Sainte-Anne, Bach et les baroques nordiques dans l’église-musée des Augustins, Couperin et les classiques français à l’église Saint-Pierre des Chartreux, et le grand répertoire d’orgue symphonique à la Dalbade, au Taur ou à Saint-Sernin ! 

les dernières actualités orgues

Orgues

Un été au son des orgues en Occitanie !

La région Occitanie est riche d’instruments de t... Lire la suite

Orgues

Découvrir l’orgue côté face !

Vous avez envie de découvrir le fonctionnement de l’orgue... Lire la suite

FACTEURS D’ORGUE

Les facteurs d’orgues sont ces hommes et ces femmes qui imaginent, conçoivent, construisent, entretiennent, accordent, réparent, restaurent les orgues.

La facture d’orgue est un métier d’art de haut niveau qui requiert des compétences techniques et artistiques transversales, le tout associé à un esprit créatif et à une grande capacité d’adaptation.

Un métier de haut vol et de passion !

En savoir plus sur les facteurs

Découvrez aussi…

APPRENDRE À JOUER DE L’ORGUE

Vous souhaitez apprendre l’orgue ? Débutant ou avancé, enfant ou adulte, plusieurs possibilités s’offrent à vous.

En savoir plus

histoire et anecdotes

Nombreuses sont les histoires et les anecdotes autour des orgues. Connaissez-vous l’histoire de la famille Puget ? Savez-vous que des orgues ont été transportés sur le Canal du Midi ? Retrouvez ici des histoires d’orgue !

En savoir plus

association autour des orgues

Associations des Amis d’Orgues, Associations autour d’organistes, Communes engagées pour la valorisation de leur orgues, facteurs d’orgues etc… Retrouvez ici une liste non exhaustive de liens autour des orgues !

En savoir plus