Organ builder

ORGAN BUILDER

/// A craft combining technical & artistic skills

Organ builders are those men and women who imagine, design, build, maintain, tune, repair and restore organs.

Organ builders are those men and women who imagine, design, build, service, tune, repair and restore organs.
Organ building is a high-level craft that requires a range of technical and artistic skills, combined with a creative spirit and a great capacity for adaptation. A job for elite and devoted craftsmen and women!

Each organ is unique. Over the centuries, instrument makers have always incorporated the most advanced technologies of their time into the instruments they build, taking both the demands of musical fashions and established repertoires into account. The culture of each country influences the building of an organ, both in the techniques used and in the sound of the instruments. Their thorough knowledge of the instruments of past centuries enables organ builders to encompass the world of the organ and their profession with an eye to the future.

They strive to transmit a culture and a dynamic heritage that they continue to develop.

Organ builders are established in many countries around the world, with more in Europe than elsewhere, because of its history. In France, there are around 80 organ building workshops, with an organ building training centre in Eschau.

In Occitanie, there are around ten organ builders, including:

Jean Daldosso in Gimont (32),
Franz Lefèvre in Castres (81),
Léa Malvy Nencioli in Auvillar (82),
Gérard Bancells in Rabastens (81),
Pierre Vialle in Fleurance (32),
Manufacture Languedocienne de Grandes Orgues : Charles Sarelot in Lodève (34),
Claude Berger in Clermont l’Hérault (34),
Bertyl Soutoul in Nîmes (30).

Organ builders come from all over France to work on organs in our Region: Bertrand Cattiaux, Pascal Quoirin, Michel Formentelli, Jean-François Muno, Béthines-les-Orgues, Stéphane Pesce, Jacques Nonnet, Manufacture Robert, Yves Cabourdin, Thierry Lemercie, etc.

« Build me an organ »

> Watch the video on how to build an organ from scratch

To know more

GPFO’s site : www.ameublement.com/fr/facteurs-d-orgues
Centre de formation de la facture d’orgue d’Eschau : www.cffo-eschau.fr

Facteurs d’orgues

FACTEUR D’ORGUE

/// Un métier d’art alliant exigence technique & artistique

Les facteurs d’orgues sont ces hommes et ces femmes qui imaginent, conçoivent, construisent, entretiennent, accordent, réparent, restaurent les orgues.

La facture d’orgue est un métier d’art de haut niveau qui requiert des compétences techniques et artistiques transversales, le tout associé à un esprit créatif et à une grande capacité d’adaptation. Un métier de haut vol et de passion !

Chaque orgue est unique. Au fil des siècles, les facteurs ont toujours intégré aux instruments qu’ils construisaient les technologies les plus à la pointe de leur époque, répondant en parallèle aux exigences des modes musicales et des répertoires. La culture de chaque pays influe sur la facture d’un orgue tant sur les techniques utilisées que sur les sonorités des instruments. Leur connaissance pointue des instruments des siècles passés permet aux facteurs d’orgues de porter sur le monde de l’orgue et sur leur métier un regard tourné vers l’avenir.

L’objectif : transmettre une culture et un patrimoine vivant qu’ils continuent à faire évoluer.

Des facteurs d’orgues sont installés dans de nombreux pays dans le monde, avec une plus forte présence en Europe du fait de son histoire. En France, on recense autour de 80 ateliers de facture d’orgues avec un centre de formation à la facture d’orgue à Eschau.

En Occitanie, on compte une dizaine de facteurs parmi lesquels :

Jean Daldosso à Gimont (32)
Franz Lefèvre à Castres (81)
Léa Malvy Nencioli à Auvillar (82)
Gérard Bancells à Rabastens (81)
Pierre Vialle (32)
Manufacture Languedocienne de Grandes Orgues : Charles Sarelot à Lodève (34)
Claude Berger à Clermont l’Hérault (34)
Bertyl Soutoul à Nîmes (30)

Des facteurs de toute la France interviennent sur les orgues de notre Région : Bertrand Cattiaux, Pascal Quoirin, Michel Formentelli, Jean-François Muno, Béthines-les-Orgues, Stéphane Pesce, Jacques Nonnet, la manufacture Robert, Yves Cabourdin, Thierry Lemercier…

« fabrique-moi un orgue »

> Voir la vidéo sur la fabrication complète d’un orgue :

Pour en savoir plus

Site du GPFO : www.ameublement.com/fr/facteurs-d-orgues
Centre de formation de la facture d’orgue d’Eschau : www.cffo-eschau.fr